About your Search

20121001
20121031
Search Results 0 to 1 of about 2
. >> it is known locally as the peace cross. in fact, this 40-foot tall concrete structure was built in the 1920s by the american legion as a memorial to the 49 men of prince georges county who died in the service of their country during world war i. the fact that it is a cross on government land bothers the american human association. >> this country is a diverse one. we have buddhists, we have hindus, we have always had some percentage of our population that were minority religion faith. so representing those who have fallen with a monument that is only representative of one faith is just not universal enough. >> the humanist sent a letter to the maryland national park and planning commission demanding that the cross be removed from the rest of the war memorial. >> u.s.a., don't let him tear down the cross. >> more than 120 people assembled to express their support for the structure. >> it is sacrifice and peace. >> kathy davis believes the war memorial should remain as it was designed. >> it was not put up there as a religious symbol. it was put up as a memorial. >> american legion co
on the west coast, it's your local news and tomorrow get your day started at noon eastern, 9:00 pacific with the n.f.l. on fox pre-game show. followed by double-header action. the redskins bat the steelers and the giants take on the cowboys. or other regional action. following the o.t. we have game four of the world series. 8:00 eastern, 5:00 pacific. right back here in detroit. as mentioned, matt cain on the giants. max scherzer for detroit. for more information on tonight's game an o
Search Results 0 to 1 of about 2